Select Page

Faculty & Staff Directory

Senior Administrators

Jim Belcher

Jim Belcher

President

president@providencecc.edu
With his appointment as the 3rd president of Providence in July 2014, Dr. Belcher brings to the office a great zeal for Liberal Arts Education coupled with an ideal wealth of visionary leadership in the Reformed…Read more »

Dawn Dirksen

Dawn Dirksen

Vice President of Finance and Operations

dirksen@providencecc.edu
Dawn Dirksen is the director of finance and operations for Providence Christian College. She is responsible for the financial and business operations of the college. Read more »

Ann Hamilton

Ann Hamilton

Interim Chief Academic Officer

ahamilton@providencecc.edu
Dr. Hamilton brings over 35 years of experience in higher education to Providence.  Ann has a doctorate in Higher Education Leadership and Management and master’s degrees in both Business Administration and Nursing Education. Read more »

Michael Kiledjian

Michael Kiledjian

Vice President of Advancement

mkiledjian@providencecc.edu
Michael Kiledjian is the Director of Advancement. He has a broad résumé in development and planned giving. Read more »

Larissa Kamps

Larissa Kamps

Director of Enrollment Management

larissa.kamps@providencecc.edu
Larissa has served as the Director of Enrollment Management since 2008. Prior to working at Providence, she worked in higher education in Michigan and Iowa. Read more »

Mark Rippetoe

Mark Rippetoe

Dean of Student Life

mark.rippetoe@providencecc.edu
Mark Rippetoe is the dean of student life at Providence. Originally from Nashville, he most recently moved from Northern California where he was overseeing another resident life program. Read more »

Faculty

John Cunningham

John Cunningham

Director of the First Year Experience and Assistant Professor of Philosophy

cunningham@providencecc.edu
Dr. John Cunningham is the director of the First Year Experience at Providence Christian College. Prior to working at Providence, he spent many years as a pastor and counselor and also worked for Fortune 500 companies. Read more »

Whitney Gamble

Whitney Gamble

Assistant Professor of Biblical and Theological Studies

gamble@providencecc.edu
Dr. Whitney Gamble is assistant professor of biblical and theological studies at Providence Christian College. Read more »

Lauren Kim

Lauren Kim

Interim Assistant Professor of History

kim@providencecc.edu
Dr. Lauren J. Kim, PhD has been appointed as an Adjunct Instructor of History for the Spring Semester at Providence Christian College…Read more »

Scott A. Swanson

Scott A. Swanson

Professor of Biblical and Theological Studies

swanson@providencecc.edu
Dr. Scott A. Swanson is professor of biblical and theological studies at Providence Christian College and one of the first full-time faculty members. He calls biblical and theological studies, “a tremendously exciting endeavor…Read more »

Jan Van Spronsen

Jan Van Spronsen

Director of Academic Resource Center and Instructor of Education

vanspronsen@providencecc.edu
Jan grew up in Michigan and was transplanted to California thirty years ago. She received her degree in Special Education and Liberal Studies from Calvin College in Grand Rapids, MI and a Masters degree in Educational Leadership…Read more »

Affiliate Faculty

Brandon Addison

Brandon Addison

Adjunct Professor

addison@providencecc.edu
Brandon Addison was born and raised in Mishawaka, Indiana, in the shadow of the Golden Dome. In 2007, he migrated from the Midwest to Ontario, California to attend Providence Christian College, graduating in 2009…Read more »

Alan Armes

Alan Armes

Adjunct Professor of Film and Video Production

armes@providencecc.edu
Alan Armes is a film & television Editor in Los Angeles, CA. Alan earned a BA in Art from Houghton College, NY with minors in Philosophy & Educational Ministries and then attended the LA Film Studies Center…Read more »

Ben Austin

Ben Austin

Adjunct Professor of Greek

austin@providencecc.edu
Dr. Austin was born in Thunder Bay Ontario, and lived in Winnipeg Manitoba until the age of nine. He lived in the Chicago Suburbs where he studied Theology and History at Trinity Christian College. He then moved to Grand Rapids, Michigan…Read more »

Nicholas Barrett

Nicholas Barrett

Adjunct Instructor of English

barrett@providencecc.edu

Christina Bristow

Christina Bristow

Visiting Adjunct Voice Instructor; Chamber Singers Director

bristow@providencecc.edu
Christina Bristow serves as voice instructor at Providence Christian College. She received her Masters of Music from the University of Southern California in Vocal Arts/ Opera and her Bachelor of Arts in Music Education…Read more »

Julie Bykerk

Julie Bykerk

Adjunct Instructor of Education

julie.bykerk@providencecc.edu
Julie Bykerk serves as an instructor of Children’s Literature at Providence Christian College. She received a bachelor’s degree in elementary education with minors in English and history from Calvin College in Grand Rapids, Michigan…Read more »

Bernard Chadwick

Bernard Chadwick

Adjunct Instructor - Art

chadwick@providencecc.edu
Bernard (Bernie) Chadwick is a native southern Californian who has briefly lived in Costa Rica and Switzerland and has traveled throughout Europe and South America. He earned a BFA in Painting from the Laguna College of Art and Design…Read more »

Valentin Gonzalez-Bohorquez

Valentin Gonzalez-Bohorquez

Adjunct Instructor of Spanish

gonzalezbohorquez@providencecc.edu

Michael Hubbell

Michael Hubbell

Adjunct Instructor of Business

Larry McHargue

Larry McHargue

Visiting Adjunct Professor of Biology

mchargue@providencecc.edu
Dr. Lawrence McHargue began his association with Providence Christian College in 2002 as a member of the Board of Directors and has added teaching duties as a visiting professor of science with the college…Read more »

Lawrence R. Mumford

Lawrence R. Mumford

Visiting Adjunct Professor of Music

mumford@providencecc.edu
Dr. Mumford is Professor of Music Theory, Music History, Aural Skills, and Piano.  He obtained his Doctorate of Musical Arts degree from USC in 1989, and he has taught music at the university level since 1992…Read more »

Paula Orr

Paula Orr

Adjunct Instructor of English

orr@providencecc.edu

Dr. Chuck Ryor

Dr. Chuck Ryor

Adjunct Professor of Communication Arts

ryor@providencecc.edu
Chuck Ryor serves as both Athletic Director and Adjunct Professor of Communications. Dr. Ryor is also a local Pastor at Prism Church in Pasadena (www.PrismChurch.com), which is part of the Acts 29 Network. He received his PhD from Florida State University…Read more »

Joanna Schiestl

Joanna Schiestl

Adjunct Instructor of Sociology

scheistl@providencecc.edu

Peter Uwarow

Peter Uwarow

Adjunct Instructor of English

uwarow@providencecc.edu
Peter F. Uwarow grew up in South Carolina, the son of a Christian college professor. As such, he grew up appreciating higher Christian education. He received a B.A. in the Humanities from a small Christian university…Read more »

Rebecca VanderZee

Rebecca VanderZee

Adjunct Instructor of Psychology

vanderzee@providencecc.edu

Keri Whitaker

Keri Whitaker

Adjunct Instructor—Health and Physical Fitness

keri.whitaker@providencecc.edu
Keri was born and raised in Orange County, CA. She holds a Bachelors degree in liberal studies and a CA Teaching Credential. She taught at the elementary school level for 7 years in grades K–4…Read more »

Kathy Zeeb

Kathy Zeeb

Adjunct Instructor of Business

zeeb@providencecc.edu

Academic Office

Max Belz

Max Belz

Director of Experiential Learning

max.belz@providencecc.edu
Max Belz originally joined the Providence staff as an admissions counselor in 2009 and has since transitioned to directing experiential learning. He holds a bachelor’s degree in history and education from Covenant College…Read more »

Brent Pafford

Brent Pafford

Executive Assistant to the President

brent.pafford@providencecc.edu
Brent Pafford serves as the executive assistant to President Belcher and Dawn Dirksen, VP of Finance and Operations, joining the Providence administrative staff in August 2016…Read more »

Sarah Rippetoe

Sarah Rippetoe

Student Success Coach, Adjunct Faculty

sarah.rippetoe@providencecc.edu

Patty Tsai

Patty Tsai

Registrar

tsai@providencecc.edu
Though born on the east coast, Patty Tsai grew up in southern California. As a first generation Taiwanese American, she has had plenty of experience straddling two cultures and is very enthusiastic about Providence’s efforts to engage…Read more »

Elijah Villafana

Elijah Villafana

Assistant Registrar

elijahv@providencecc.edu
Elijah was part of the first graduating class in 2009. Having graduated with a bachelor’s degree in history and a minor in Biblical and Theological Studies…Read more »

Advancement Office

Michael Kiledjian smallMichael Kiledjian
VP of Advancement
mkiledjian@providencecc.edu
626.696.4058

 

 

 

Mark Pomerville

Mark Pomerville

Development Assistant and Alumni Relations Manager

mark.pomerville@providencecc.edu
Mark Pomerville joins Providence after several years producing unscripted television programs such as MTV’s Catfish: The TV Show, ABC’s Extreme Weight Loss and Game Show Network’s The American Bible ChallengeRead more »

Admissions Office

See Meet Your Counselor page

 

Business Office

Dawn Dirksen smallDawn Dirksen
VP of Finance and Operations
dirksen@providencecc.edu
626.696.4001

 

 

 

Dwayne Johansen smallDwayne Johansen
Business Manager
dwayne.johansen@providencecc.edu
626.696.4036

Student Life Office

See Student Life Staff page

Library

Wanda DeVries smallWanda DeVries
Librarian
devries@providencecc.edu
626.696.4008

Athletics

Go to www.seabeggars.com to see full staff profiles and assistant coaches

chown-165x210Chris Chown
Head Volleyball Coach
chris.chown@providencecc.edu
626.696.4051

 

 

 

mahtani-165x210Sam Mahtani
Head Soccer Coach
samuel.mahtani@providencecc.edu
626.696.4020

 

 

 

trevor-davidson-165x210Trevor Davidson
Head Baseball Coach
trevor.davidson@providencecc.edu
626.696.4025

 

 

 

Matt Wilson
Head Men’s and Women’s Cross Country Coach
matt.wilson@providencecc.edu

 

Contact Us

“I am extremely thankful for Providence’s mission…it has taught me that no matter what I am studying or thinking on, I am to ask this question, ‘How does it relate to Christ?’”
Johnathan K.
Class of 2015
“Christianity is the greatest intellectual system the mind of man has ever touched.”
Francis Schaeffer

Deeper Learning for Greater Wisdom

X
Navigation